Alright, this poem sounds cakey but it has double meanings. Just got a hold of it this morning. So, let’s go.

Fingers In The Dough

My fingers lapped the cake.
Threading it wistfully in my enclosed palm.
Feeling the soft elasticity of it, as it expanded therein.

It seemed juvenile to wish for a formation.
But still, I couldn’t help but envision a flower-shaped cake.
Even though, right now, all I saw was a shapeless formed cake.

Burdened by the flour on the still carpet,
I felt like maybe I could push one little flour to the mix.
But ended up pushing in one-two many flour into the overly formed cake.

What a mess!
But a complete disaster it was but my pride wouldn’t let up.
So, I pushed in some water thinking it would dissolve some, but…

Instead of dissolving, it became a solvent.
Out goes my flower-shaped cake.
And in comes my shapeless formed cake.


  • All You Need To Know About BlueHost
    Have you ever thought that handling your blog on WordPress can be a bit challenging?
  • COMING INTO THE AN AWAKENING OF A TRUE SUPPORT SYSTEM
    It’s simply being a pillar, a guide and a cheerleader to people all round. You do not need to be their best friends or a member of their family. You only need to be h
  • Baby, It’s Time To Tell It To The Skies!
    For me,  I actually believe I’m a sapiosexual. Intelligent conversations turn me on. You don’t want to dialogue with an idiot. I believe it’s the same for most people. Well, if you’re one,  this book is for you.
  • Tick Of Time
    This is the first post for the Year 2022! I cannot imagine the best way to start the year, than an introspective short poetry post. TICK OF TIMEThe lips…
  • CHILD LABOUR IN RESPECT TO HAWKING
    From rural to urban Nigeria, we see cases of children walking from the age of four to adulthood in other to sustain their families because society has failed them. There have not been proper structures put in place for these children to thrive, and the poverty rate is indeed crippling. Yes, poverty! 

2 thoughts on “Fingers In The Dough

Leave a comment